联系我们

全球据点

在线咨询

在线咨询技术人员

联系我们

透过电子邮件询问问题或提供意见

We have noticed that you are visiting from North American areas. Would you like to browse the US site (US.DFI.com) for a better experience?

可以请您回答一个简短的问卷吗?

感谢您填写这份问卷。您的反馈将有助于改进我们的网站,并提供更好的用户体验。

您的反馈建议已成功送出,非常感谢您的参与。

关闭
成功案例

DFI解决方案提供自动化机器人可靠稳定的高效能运算心脏

DFI解决方案提供自动化机器人可靠稳定的高效能运算心脏

自主移动机器人应用的普及是必然的趋势

DFI EC70A-SU/EC70A-KU系列完美结合令人惊艳的外观设计以及优异的运算效能,以高效第六代 Intel® Core™ i7/i5/i3 处理器为基础,提供顶尖处理效能、无风扇的散热科技,专为空间有限且效能需求高的解决方案而设计,如新兴的自主移动机器人(AMR, Automated Mobile Robot)。

 

区域:欧洲

国家:丹麦

应用:运输用自主移动机器人

解决方案:DFI EC70A-SU/EC70A-KU系列


近年来,随着人工智能应用的普及,与二十四小时全球化物流的发展,以电子商务与制造业为主的产业,对于移动式机器人的需求,持续水涨船高。

受到新冠肺炎(COVID-19)肆虐全球的影响,大众为了避免染疫而避免外出,不仅激增电子商务订单,各大电商必须扩大布署自主移动机器人(AMR,Autonomous Mobile Robot)和自动导引车(AGV,Autonomous Guided Vehicle)。

因疫情加剧而扩大的劳动力缺口,让各大经济体须重新规划制造业与供应链,且基于就近生产、减少人力资源、提高生产效率等种种考虑,势必带动机器人产业的成长,预期2020年全球移动机器人的市场收入将成长25%、2021年增长50%,在2024年全球移动机器人的市场营收,将达到87.9亿美元,其中制造业的投资金额约50亿美元。

其中AMR因无须像AGV须布署在事先规划的环境(如改建厂房、铺设轨道、整平地面),整体布署成本较高,也较难应付意外状况,如运输过程中一旦遇到障碍物只能暂停运作。所以随着自驾车导航技术的成熟,拥有自主导引、机器视觉、和地图建构能力的AMR,相当于一辆装载GPS和预装地图的自动车,可自动判断最有效的路径并绕开障碍物,对于仓库基础条件较差、地面沈降严重的地区,更需要AMR的越障能力与环境适应性。也因此,有鉴于更高的应用布署弹性,AMR成为制造业、物流仓储和医疗保健等领域,优先采购的产品项目。

更聪明的机器人需要更可靠的运算心脏

但比AGV更聪明的AMR,需要更加强大的运算效能、整合更多样化的传感器、与承受不同环境的耐用性。

整体来看,其运算控制单元须符合以下条件。

  • 高效能。
    • 具备高速执行各式各样机器人控制软件的效能表现,并保有未来升级软件的余裕。
    • 可实时计算定位与地图构建算法。
  • 完整的I/O界面。
    • 易于整合广泛的传感器与制动器。
    • 可接收来自深度摄影机的高速视讯串流与激光雷达(LiDAR)的数据串流。
  • 低功耗。
    • 延长电池运作时间。
    • 减少电池频繁充电而带来的耗损。
  • 对恶劣环境的抵抗力。
    • 可在宽温环境长期运行,抵抗讯号干扰,并承受移动过程中的振动。
    • 更长的平均故障间隔(MTBF,Mean Time Between Failures)、更低的平均失效前时间(MTTF,Mean Time To Failures)与更短的平均修复时间(MTTR,Mean Time To Repair)。
  • 强固的无线网络。
    • 稳定且可靠传输数据与控制命令。
    • 便利的自我检测与远程故障排除。
  • 较小的尺寸。
    • 便于系统整合。
    • 提高机器人的机构设计弹性。

近年来Intel NUC(Next Unit of Computing)带动了小巧计算机的风潮,也成为部份机器人厂商在产品开发初期的首选,但个人计算机应用导向的NUC与类似产品,却难以满足以下需求。

  • 高可靠度与产品寿命。
  • 多元的传感器界面,如雷射扫描仪常见的RS-422。
  • 对抗震动与讯号干扰所导致的效能减损。

如果采用ARM指令集架构的系统单芯片平台(如nVidia Jetson Xavier),受限于效能瓶颈难以迅速应对需求改变的难题。所以机器人需要工业计算机等级的运算控制单元,并充分利用x86生态系统通用与开放的软件资源,才能确保可靠性与耐用性,提高运作效率,降低整体使用成本与总体资本支出。

 

DFI解决方案克服消费性产品的瓶颈

欧洲一间在移动机器人与工业自动化领域,享有领导地位的厂商,推出一系列可乘载100公斤、200公斤、250公斤、500公斤、与1000公斤自动搬运机器人。原先采用Intel NUC做为其AMR的运算心脏,但因遭遇了上述NUC的缺点,而转向选择DFI工业计算机等级的DFI EC70A-SU/EC70A-KU系列。

DFI解决方案:高能耗比、高耐用性、高稳定性、易于开发

欧洲客户的AMR整合了大量传感器,包含定位用的深度摄影机与激光雷达、防止长距离碰撞的雷射扫描仪、与侦测短距离碰撞的超音波传感器。

工业计算机规格的DFI EC70A-SU/EC70A-KU系列,不仅带来了可靠的能耗比、耐用性与稳定性,并提供完整的I/O界面,从传感器、无线网络、电源供应、动力系统,均完全满足AMR的需求。

第六代Intel Core处理器的优异效能,也让AMR可实时计算器械视觉与地图构建算法,x86指令集兼容性也便于软件开发,并利于针对不同客户,客制化图形化管理界面,如AMR可藉由可靠的无线网络,由远程计算机甚至智能型手机直接操作,无须透过繁杂的控制台管理,进一步降低操作成本。

DFI解决方案替机器人产业带来更高的价值

以DFI EC70A-SU/EC70A-KU系列作为运算心脏、使用锂电池做为能量来源的AMR,可以时速20公里持续运作8到10小时,承受每秒两公尺的瞬间加速度。DFI并提供完整的技术支持,客制化BIOS与硬件规格,让客户打造出适用工业4.0环境的自动化搬运机器人。

成立于1981年的DFI,为全球领先的工业计算机与嵌入式解决方案供货商。凭借着创新的设计和优异的质量管理系统,DFI的工业级解决方案优化客户的装置设计,并且针对工厂自动化、医疗、博弈、智能交通、智慧能源,后勤科技和智慧零售等领域提供高可靠性、长生命周期,以及全天候耐用的产品与服务。发展方兴未艾的自动化机器人,也将是DFI为这个业界带来更高价值的新疆界。

Contact Us

Worldwide Offices

Chat Online

Get live help and chat with our DFI representative

Contact Us

Email us with your questions or comments

We have noticed that you are visiting from North American areas. Would you like to browse the US site (US.DFI.com) for a better experience?

Would you answer a brief survey?

Thank you for taking this survey. Your feedback will help us improve our official website and provide a better user experience.

Your feedback has been successfully submitted. Thank you very much for your time and participation.

Close
Success Story

DFI Solution Provides Reliable and Stable High-Performance Computing Brain for Automated Robots

DFI Solution Provides Reliable and Stable High-Performance Computing Brain for Automated Robots

The popularization of autonomous mobile robot applications is an inevitable trend

As a flawless combination of impressive stylish design and excellent computing capability, the EC70A-SU/KU Series based on the high-end 6th Gen Intel® Core™ i7/i5/i3 processors deliver outstanding processing capability in a fanless and compact enclosure. And it is designed for space-limited and compute-intensive solutions, such as the emerging Autonomous Mobile Robot (AMR).

Region: Europe

Country: Denmark

Application: AMR for Transportation

Solution: DFI EC70A-SU/KU Series


In recent years, with the popularization of artificial intelligence applications and the development of around-the-clock global logistics, the demand for mobile robots in industries dominated by e-commerce and manufacturing has continued to rise.

Affected by the raging COVID-19, the public avoids going out in fear of infection. Not only has e-commerce orders surged, but major e-commerce companies must also expand the deployment of autonomous mobile robots (AMR, Autonomous Mobile Robot) and automatic guidance Vehicles (AGV, Autonomous Guided Vehicle).

The widening labor shortage due to the intensification of the COVID-19 requires major economies to replan the manufacturing and supply chains. Based on various considerations such as nearby production, reduction of human resources, and improvement of production efficiency, it is bound to drive the growth of the robotics industry. It is expected that in 2020, the market revenue of mobile robots will grow by 25% and by 50% in 2021. In 2024, the global mobile robot market revenue will reach 8.79 billion U.S. dollars, of which, the investment from manufacturing industries is about 5 billion U.S. dollars.

AMR does not need to be deployed in a pre-planned environment like AGV (such as rebuilding a factory, laying tracks, and leveling the ground), the overall deployment cost is relatively lower and it is also easy to cope with unexpected situations such as obstacles during transportation on suspending operations. Therefore, as the navigation technology for self-driving car advances, an AMR with autonomous guidance, machine vision, and map reconstruction capabilities is equivalent to an automatic car equipped with GPS and pre-installed maps, which can automatically determine the most effective path and avoid obstacles. For areas with poor warehouse conditions and severe ground subsidence, AMR's obstacle-crossing ability and environmental adaptability are needed. Therefore, because of the higher flexibility of application deployment, AMR has become a priority product item in manufacturing, logistics and warehousing, and medical care.

Smarter robots need more reliable computing brain

But AMR, which is smarter than AGV, needs more powerful computing performance, integration of more diverse sensors, and durability to withstand different environments.

On the whole, its control unit must meet the following conditions:

  • High performance.
    • It has enough performance capable for the off-the-shelf robot software and reserves the margin for future software upgrades.
    • Real-time calculation of positioning and map reconstruction algorithms.
  • Complete I/O interface.
    • Easily integrate a wide range of sensors and actuators.
    • It can receive high-speed video streams from depth cameras and data streams from LiDAR (Light Detection And Ranging).
  • Low power consumption.
    • Extended battery operating time.
    • Reduce the battery loss caused by frequent charging.
  • Resistance to harsh environments.
    • It can operate in a wide temperature environment for a long time, resist signal interference, and withstand vibration during movement.
    • Longer Mean Time Between Failures (MTBF), lower Mean Time To Failures (MTTF), and shorter Mean Time To Repair (MTTR).
  • Robust wireless network.
    • Stable and reliable transmission of data and control commands.
    • Convenient self-diagnosis and remote troubleshooting.
  • Smaller size.
    • Facilitate system integration.
    • Improve the flexibility of robot mechanism design.

In recent years, Intel NUC (Next Unit of Computing) has driven the trend of compact computers and has become the initial choice for some robot manufacturers in the early stages of product development. However, the application-oriented NUC and similar products for personal computers cannot meet the following requirements.

● High reliability and long life cycle.

● Multiple sensor interfaces, such as popular RS-422 for laser scanners.

● No performance loss is caused by vibration and signal interference.

If a system-on-chip platform with ARM instruction set architecture (such as Nvidia Jetson Xavier) is adopted, it is difficult to quickly respond to changes in demand due to performance bottlenecks. Therefore, robots need industrial computer-level control units to leverage the x86 ecosystem and mature software resources to ensure reliability and durability, improve operating efficiency, reduce total cost of ownership (TCO), and overall capital expenditures (CAPEX).

 

 

 

 

DFI solution overcomes the bottlenecking of consumer products

A European AMR manufacturer that owns a leading position in the field of mobile robots and industrial automation has launched a series of automatic transportation robots that can carry 100 kg, 200 kg, 250 kg, 500 kg, and 1000 kg. Originally they chose Intel NUC as the computing brain of its AMR, but because of the above-mentioned limitations of NUC, it turned to DFI industrial-grade EC70A-SU/KU series.

DFI solution: high energy consumption ratio, high durability, high stability, and easy to develop

European customers’ AMR integrates a large number of sensors, including depth cameras and laser radars for positioning, laser scanners to prevent long-range collisions, and ultrasonic sensors to detect short-range collisions.

The DFI EC70A-SU/KU series not only bring reliable energy-efficiency, durability, and stability, but also provide a complete I/O interface, ranging from sensors, wireless networks, power supplies, and power systems. It fully meets the need for AMR.

The excellent performance of the 6th Gen Intel® Core™ also allows AMR to calculate machine vision and map reconstruction algorithms in real-time. The x86 instruction set compatibility also facilitates software development and customized graphical user interfaces (GUI) for different customers. For example, the AMR can be directly operated by a remote computer or even a smartphone through a reliable wireless network without the need for complicated console management, further reducing operating costs.

DFI solutions bring higher value to the robotics industry

The AMR integrated with DFI EC70A-SU/KU series as the computing brain, electrically powered by lithium battery technology, achieve long operating time on a single battery charge (8-10 hours/20 km) and maximum 2.0 m/s velocity. DFI also provides comprehensive technical support, customized BIOS, and refined hardware specifications, allowing customers to create automated transportation robots suitable for the Industry 4.0 environment.

Founded in 1981, DFI is a global leading provider of high-performance computing technology across multiple embedded industries. With its innovative design and premium quality management system, DFI’s industrial-grade solutions enable customers to optimize their equipment and ensure high reliability, long-term life cycle, and 24/7 durability in a breadth of markets including factory automation, medical, gaming, transportation, smart energy, mission-critical, and intelligent retail. The development of automated robots in the ascendant will also be a new frontier for DFI to bring higher value to this industry.