联系我们

全球据点

在线咨询

在线咨询技术人员

联系我们

透过电子邮件询问问题或提供意见

Language

We have noticed that you are visiting from North American areas. Would you like to browse the US site (US.DFI.com) for a better experience?

告诉我们您的想法

可以请您回答一个简短的问卷吗?

网站反馈

*必填栏位

感谢您填写这份问卷。您的反馈将有助于改进我们的网站,并提供更好的用户体验。

网站反馈

您的反馈建议已成功送出,非常感谢您的参与。

关闭
成功案例

DFI替5G微型基地台与边缘运算服务器挹注无穷的动力

DFI替5G微型基地台与边缘运算服务器挹注无穷的动力

SLOT 14 OFDM symbols 1 ms 15 kHz SLOT 14 OFDM symbols 30 kHz 500 us SLOT 14 OFDM symbols 60 kHz 250 uS SLOT 14 OFDM symbols 120 kHz 125 us

小型5G基地台需要大变革

友通发布基于COM Express Type 7规范下全新开发的嵌入式模块「DV970」,此模块专为提升网络传输速度以及针对需要实时响应的云端运算应用所设计,不仅改善运算效能、降低功耗,更拥有丰富的扩充能力。因此,一家业界领先的基地台厂商与DFI合作,将DV970整合到到其5G小型基地台。

 

区域:台湾

应用:5G小型基地台概念验证

解决方案:DFI DV970

 

面向未来扩展5G

 5G网络的普及实乃大势所趋。与4G相比,5G网络可将下载速度提高100倍,延迟降低10倍,并且在相同的地理空间内连接500倍的设备。这些增强功能有望帮助迎来一系列的新兴应用,从自动驾驶汽车、无人机、增强现实和4K / 8K视讯串流,都是5G可大显身手的领域,而「万物连网」更是5G的终极愿景。

俗语说的好,万丈高楼平地起,在迈向万物连网之前,须建立起足以支撑巨量数据处理的基础架构,必须有足够的余裕支撑未来十年大幅增长的数据使用量,并兼顾满足实时性应用的低延迟要求。

根据Ericsson的研究(Ericsson Mobile Report 2020 Q2),平均每位5G终端用户的数据量将是4G的四倍,意味着在过去作为4G网络支柱的小型基地台(Small Cell)须具备更强大的运算效能,而且须分担更多云端运算的工作。基于降低长期营运成本的考虑,融入软件定义网络(SDN)和网络功能虚拟化(NFV)的精神,采用标准化并泛用化的硬件平台,以因应5G毫米波(mmWave)因传输距离甚短,而数量不得不激增的小型基地台,更是不可或缺。

没有最重要、只会更重要的「延迟」

由近到远,5G网络的延迟议题可分成两个层面:「讯号处理」和「服务质量」。

根据5G NR(New Radio)的分时双工(TDD)时槽排程架构,如要达成10Gb/s理论传输带宽(载波带宽400MHz,子载波间隔120kHz)时,基地台需要在125微秒(µs)内处理包含14个OFDM符码(Symbol)的时槽(Slot),换言之,一秒钟内须完成8000个时槽的处理工作。

 

FGPA 5G module PCle x2 5G 1slot length 125 us Trigger Atom@ C3958 NPU FGPA synchornize signal Pulse width 80ns 10 GbE Ethernet 125 us 土 180 ns

因软件定义网络(SDN)和网络设备虚拟化(NFV)的趋势,让泛用处理器越来越适合作为基地台运算核心,以Intel Atom处理器做为网络处理器(NPU),结合用来进行基频(Baseband)处理的FPGA,可有效将本地端基地台的宽带数据流量回程(Backhaul)到核心网络,并带来更多的应用布署弹性。

为了确认技术可行性,一间在业界位于领先地位的电信营运商,采用DFI的Atom C3958(代号Denverton)系统,搭配FPGA和5G通讯模块,进行概念验证(POC)。但每个装置都需要实时同步,定期发出中断讯号,以确保数据和动作的一致性,而如何有效缩短延迟就是一个挑战。延迟越长,也代表处理器须投入更高比例的运算效能。

为了克服延迟问题,DFI从软硬件双管齐下。首先,DFI优化硬件电路,以便尽速检测到中断信号,并同时改进处理器与5G通讯模块之间的PCIe信道,增加整体系统效能。其次,DFI透过使用低延迟Linux内核,争取更充裕的处理时间,也释放更多的处理器效能,以便支持其他的网络服务需求。

为达成5G低延迟、高网速的功能,5G基地台将基频模块(BBU,Baseband Unit)分割成集中单元(CU,Centralized Unit)与分散单元(DU,Distribute Unit)。集中单元负责处理非实时协议和服务,分散单元负责处理物理层协议和实时服务。

通过SDN / NFV技术,5G基频模块(BBU)应该同时兼容4G / 5G,并同时支持集中式无线电接入网络(C-RAN)、分布式无线电接入网络(D-RAN)以及集中/分布单元(CU / DU) ,使其具有强大的功能,可以在将来灵活部署。基于Intel架构的新一代基频处理平台,具有增强的运算容量,高级整合性,以及多模式灵活联网功能,可降低总体拥有成本(TCO)。

Core Network Backhaul Baseband Backhaul Core Network Core functions may be co-located with Cloud-RAN Units Cloud RAN Fronthaul Fronthaul RRH Centralized RAN (C-RAN) RRH C-RAN with NFV

打造出工控等级高可靠性的边缘服务器

实现了10Gb/s数据传输速率后,接着就是5G网络的另一个重大要求:「延迟一毫秒以下」的网络服务质量,但这就是不是单纯布署5G网络,即可迎刃而解的难题,提供服务的服务器也要靠着更近,提供边缘运算的机能,才能实现实时性应用的场域。更重要的是,服务器应当采用普及的x86架构,以达成最大的应用布署弹性。

欧洲电信标准协会(ETSI)在2012年提出网络功能虚拟化(NFV),企图将不同类型的网络设备,藉由虚拟化技术,整合到以x86服务器为主的通用硬件平台,简化网络设备与整体架构,也催生了将基频讯号处理集中在云端数据中心的云端化无线存取网络(Cloud-RAN,Cloud Radio Access Network),以降低整体营运成本。

MEC APP VM MEC Application Platform MEC Virtualiation Infrastructure Manager MEC Application Platform MEC Virtualiation Layer (e.g. OpenStack, Kubernete) MEC Operting System MEC Hardware Resources(e.g. Intel Hard ware) MEC Hosting Infrastructure MEC APP VM MEC APP Management

以NFV为基础,ETSI进一步在2015年提出多接取边缘运算(MEC,Multi-access Edge Computing),以便布署在基地台近处,提供超低延迟的实时性服务,甚至两者合而为一,让基地台也具备强大的运算能量,与允许基地台与多个用户之间,在同一时间和频率资源内,进行数据传输的Massive MIMO和波束成型(Beamforming)相辅相成。当存取网络(Access Network)采用集中单元(Centralized Unit)与分散单元(Distributed Unit)分离的架构,集中单元可将边缘运算,部署于多接取边缘运算平台,以实现超低延迟时间及高带宽的服务。此外,有鉴于将两者共同布署带来的效益,根据欧洲电信标准协会的观点,云端化无线接取网络和多接取边缘运算,是完美互补的技术。

Intel Atom C3958处理器具备2到16个核心、可辅助加解密与解压缩运算的QuickAssit技术(QAT)、最多16 SATA/16 PCIe 3.0/ 4 USB 3、以及内建4埠10GbE,耗电量可低到10W,极度适用于MEC之类的高密度小型服务器。基于COM Express Type 7规范下全新开发的嵌入式模块「DV970」,此模块专为提升网络传输速度以及针对需要实时响应的云端运算应用所设计,不仅改善运算效能、降低功耗,更拥有丰富的扩充能力。DV970 配备 4 个 10GbE-KR 以太网络端口,用来强化服务器与设备之间的连结。除此之外,DV970 也能稳定地在极端高低温环境中全天候运作,是5G微型基地台与边缘运算服务器的理想选择。

MEC服务器和数量庞大的5G微型基地台,往往布署在相对严苛并空间狭小的环境,除了处理器须支持宽温,整体设计也非得采用工业计算机规格不可,绝非一般服务器所能胜任。DFI长期耕耘工业级计算机领域,涵盖工业级主板、嵌入式计算机模块、工业级系统、和工业级触控计算机与显示器,并且针对各类型应用提供快速客制化服务,可满足来自客户的各类需求。

RemoGuard确保大量微型基地台和边缘运算服务器的可用性

数量庞大的5G微型基地台和边缘运算服务器,布署范围极广,如果发生操作系统损毁,无法使用一般In-Band远程管理维护功能,就往往需要特地配置人力去现场维修,数量越多成本也越高,激增长期整体持有成本,也降低服务质量。

DFI与Innodisk合作研发的RemoGuard,导入Out-Of-Band频外管理,将整个管理系统搬上云端,系统随时更新记录的温度、输入/输出电压和耗电量等实时数据,以便做立即性的操作维护,并主动预测SSD生命的周期,找出准确的汰换时机点,提高维护效率、库存管理效益、和服务永续性。

RemoGuard能在系统关机时自动备份及复原操作系统,并且当操作系统毁损时,可远程复原操作系统。包含数据本体和连往云端的联机,设备主机采用进阶的AES加密,避免数据遭窜改,传输层安全性协议(TLS)可进一步确保通讯机密性。若数据遭到入侵,或着实体设备遭到不当人为侵犯,也能依照关键任务设定的特殊要求,触发数据安全抹除和自我毁灭程序,避免数据外泄。

DFI协助客户面向未来扩展5G

面对着5G时代的到来,无论从无线电存取网络(RAN)、多接取边缘运算(MEC)到演进式数据封包核心(EPC),要打造良好的5G应用环境并兼顾资本支出(CAPEX)和营业费用(OPEX),采用具备高度应用弹性、高可靠度与高可用性的x86服务器平台,都是最理想的选择,也充分实践软件定义网络(SDN)和网络功能虚拟化(NFV)的核心精神。

专注于工业计算机的DFI,针对5G微型基地台与边缘运算服务器,不仅提供完整的硬件解决方案与云端管理系统,结合16核Atom C3000处理器,更为当今的工作负载提供足够的性能,并具有足够的扩展空间,以适应将来不断增长的数据流量。「万物连网」的愿景,将不再高不可攀,遥不可及。

Contact Us

Worldwide Offices

Chat Online

Get live help and chat with our DFI representative

Contact Us

Email us with your questions or comments

We have noticed that you are visiting from North American areas. Would you like to browse the US site (US.DFI.com) for a better experience?

Would you answer a brief survey?

Thank you for taking this survey. Your feedback will help us improve our official website and provide a better user experience.

Your feedback has been successfully submitted. Thank you very much for your time and participation.

Close
Success Story

DFI Adds Horsepower to 5G Small Cellular and Multi Access Edge Computing

DFI Adds Horsepower to 5G Small Cellular and Multi Access Edge Computing

SLOT 14 OFDM symbols 1 ms 15 kHz SLOT 14 OFDM symbols 30 kHz 500 us SLOT 14 OFDM symbols 60 kHz 250 uS SLOT 14 OFDM symbols 120 kHz 125 us

Small 5G Cell Needs Big Changes

For the purpose of boosting up the speed of internet traffic and cloud-computing applications that require fast response, DFI gladly introduces you to the newest COM Express Type 7 module DV970. It provides not only enhanced computing performance and low-power consumption, but also versatile expansion capability. Therefore, a leading cellular carrier partnered with DFI to integrate DV970 in its 5G small cells.

 

Region: Taiwan

Application: 5G Small Cell POC (Proof-of-Concept)

Solution: DFI DV970

 

Scaling 5G for the Future

The popularity of 5G mobile networks is an irresistible trend. Compared to 4G, users can expect 100x faster download speeds, 10x lower latency, and support for 500x devices in the same geographic space. These enhancements are expected to help users in a wave of new applications from autonomous vehicles, delivery drones, augmented reality, to 4K/8K video streaming, which are all areas where 5G show great potential. 5G is a unified connectivity fabric that will connect everything around us.

As an old saying goes, “great oaks grow from little acorns”. Before moving to the era of the Internet of things, an infrastructure that can support massive data processing must be established, and there must be enough margin to support the substantial increase in data usage in the next ten years, along with satisfying the low-latency requirements of real-time applications.

According to the Ericsson Mobile Report 2020 Q2, the total traffic driven by 5G networks will be multiplied by 4 in 2025 years, which means the small cell as the backbone of 4G networks must have more powerful computing performance and share the workload of cloud computing. Based on the consideration of reducing long-term operating costs arisen from dramatically increased small cells to cope with the 5G millimeter wave (mmWave) due to the shorter transmission distance, incorporating the spirit of software-defined networking (SDN) and network function virtualization (NFV), and adopting a COTS (Commercial-Off-The-Shelf) and general-purpose hardware platform is even more indispensable.

"Latency" matters more than ever

From near to far, the latency issues of 5G networks can be divided into two levels: "signal processing" and "quality of service."

According to the Time Division Duplex (TDD) architecture of 5G NR (New Radio), if the theoretical transmission bandwidth of 10Gb/s (carrier bandwidth 400MHz, sub-carrier spacing 120kHz) is to be achieved, the small cell needs to have a slot that processes 14 OFDM symbols (Symbol) within 125 seconds (µs), in other words, 8000 slots must be processed within one second.

 

Due to the trend of software-defined networking (SDN) and network function virtualization (NFV), general-purpose processors are becoming more and more suitable for computing cores of small cells. Intel Atom® processors are used as network processors (NPUs), combined with FPGA in charge of baseband processing to effectively backhaul the broadband data traffic of the local small cell to the core network, and bring more flexibility for application deployment.

To confirm the technical feasibility of 5G small cells, one leading cellular carrier began investigating the use of DFI's DV970 embedded with Intel Atom® C3958 Processor with FPGA and 5G communication modules to conduct a proof of concept (POC). However, each device needed to be synchronized at any time and periodically sent a signal pulse to ensure the coherence of data and actions. Therefore, it was a challenge to effectively reduce latency. Longer latency meant that the processor must consume higher utilization of computing power.

To overcome the latency problem, DFI took a two-pronged approach from both software and hardware. First, DFI optimized the hardware circuit to detect the signal pulse as soon as possible, and at the same time improved the PCIe connection between the processor and the 5G communication module to increase the overall system performance. Second, DFI strived for more processing time by using a low-latency Linux kernel and released more processor performance to support other network service requirements.

 

In order to realize both low latency and high bandwidth, the 5G base station divided the BBU (Baseband Unit) into CU and DU. CU (Centralized Unit) was responsible for processing non-real-time protocols and services, and DU (Distribute Unit) for physical layer protocols and real-time services.

By utilizing SDN/NFV technology, the BBU should be compatible with 4G/5G, and support could-radio access networks (C-RAN), distributed-RAN (D-RAN), and both 5G central and distributed units (CU/DU), which equips it with the robust ability for flexible deployment in the future. The new generation of modular baseband processing platform based on Intel architecture has increased capacity, high-level integration, and multi-mode flexible networking features, to reduce the total cost of ownership (TCO).

FGPA 5G module PCle x2 5G 1slot length 125 us Trigger Atom@ C3958 NPU FGPA synchornize signal Pulse width 80ns 10 GbE Ethernet 125 us 土 180 ns
Core Network Backhaul Baseband Backhaul Core Network Core functions may be co-located with Cloud-RAN Units Cloud RAN Fronthaul Fronthaul RRH Centralized RAN (C-RAN) RRH C-RAN with NFV

Refined for edge computing server with industry-grade reliability

After achieving the 10Gb/s data transmission rate, there was another major requirement of 5G networks: network service quality of "less than one-millisecond latency", but this was not a problem that could be solved by simply deploying a 5G network. The servers that provide network services also needed to be closer to users and provided edge computing functions to utilize real-time applications. More importantly, the server should adopt the popular x86 architecture to achieve maximum flexibility of application deployment.

The European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI) proposed Network Function Virtualization (NFV) in 2012, attempting to integrate different types of network equipment with virtualization technology into a common hardware platform based on x86 servers to simplify network equipment and overall architecture. It gave birth to Cloud RAN (Radio Access Network), which centralizes the baseband signal processing in the cloud data center, to reduce overall operating costs.

Based on NFV, ETSI further proposed multi-access edge computing (MEC, Multi-access Edge Computing) in 2015, so that it could be deployed close to the small cell to provide ultra-low-latency and real-time services, and even combining both as one unity with powerful computing power, complementary to Massive MIMO and Beamforming, which allowed small cells and multiple users to transmit data simultaneously within same frequency resources. When the architecture of access networks adopted separate CU (Centralized Unit) and DU (Distributed Unit), edge computing of CU could be deployed on MEC platforms to provide ultra-low latency services. Furthermore, according to the viewpoint from ETSI, Cloud RAN and MEC were a perfect pairing, because of the benefits of co-deployment.

The Intel Atom® C3000 series adopted by DFI DV970 has a wide range of SKUs (2-16 cores), QuickAssist Technology (QAT) that can accelerate encryption, decryption, and decompression, up to 16 x SATA, 16 x PCIe 3.0, 4 x USB 3, and 4 x 10 GbE Ethernet. It addresses extreme low power requirements (less than 10W TDP) and high-density form factors such as MEC. For boosting up the speed of internet traffic and cloud-computing applications that require fast response, DFI DV970 based on COM Express Type 7 provides not only enhanced computing performance and low-power consumption, but also versatile expansion capability. The DV970 supports 4 ports of 10GbE-KR Ethernet to strengthen the connection between server and equipment and is capable of a 24/7 stable operation in an extended-temp environment, therefore being an ideal solution for 5G Small Cell and MEC.

MEC servers and numerous 5G small cells are often deployed in a relatively harsh environment within limited space. In addition to the wide temperature support, the overall design must adopt industrial computer specifications, which is by no means competent with a general server. DFI has been working in the field of industrial-grade computers for a long time across industrial motherboards, system-on-modules, industrial computers, and industrial panel PC & displays. It also provides fast customized services for various types of applications to meet customer’s requirements.

RemoGuard Ensure the Availability of Numerous Small Cells and Edge Computing Servers

Many 5G small cells and edge computing servers are deployed in a very wide range. If the operating system crashes and the general in-band remote management cannot be used, it is necessary to allocate manpower for on-site maintenance. The more the number of devices, the higher the costs, and it will lead to the rapid growth of the overall operation expenses (OPEX), and lower quality of service.

 

RemoGuard, a cloud management platform co-developed by both DFI and Innodisk, introduces out-of-band management and moves the entire management system to the cloud. The platform can automatically backup the data and recover the operating system remotely when the edge devices crash, which exactly meets the managing attributes of 5G small cells – to maintain numerous stations allocated at multiple sites.

Besides remote OS recovery, RemoGuard also has device monitoring services. The platform updates the real-time updated data of logging temperature, input/output voltage, and power consumption for in-time action, and proactively estimates the lifespan of SSDs, turning passive notification to active prediction to pin down a precise benchmark of replacement timing as well as yielding benefits for inventory control, maintenance efficiency, and service continuity of the 5G small stations.

As the management is conducted through both in-band and out-of-band, both the connection to the cloud and the data itself should be protected. The advanced AES encryption is adopted to prevent data from tampering, and the Transport Layer Security Protocol (TLS) adopted by Azure Sphere further ensures communication confidentiality. Moreover, in the case of potential data breaches or improper violation of the physical equipment, secure erasure and self-destruction can also be triggered as specially required in mission-critical settings, ensuring comprehensive data security under the transmission.

DFI assists customers to scale 5G into the future

In the advent of the 5G era, whether from radio access network (RAN), multi-access edge computing (MEC), or evolved data packet core (EPC), it is necessary to create a good 5G application environment and take into account the capital expenditures (CAPEX) and operating expenses (OPEX). The x86 server platform with high application flexibility, high reliability, and high availability is the most ideal choice, fully implementing the spirit of software-defined networking (SDN) and network function virtualization (NFV) core.

DFI, which focuses on industrial computers, not only provides complete hardware solutions and cloud management systems for 5G small cell and edge computing servers but also combines 16-core Atom C3958 processor and 5G small station by its DV970 COM Express module to provide sufficient performance for today’s workloads. DFI has enough expansion space to adapt to the ever-increasing data flow in the future and makes the vision of the internet of things no longer unattainable and unreachable.

MEC APP VM MEC Application Platform MEC Virtualiation Infrastructure Manager MEC Application Platform MEC Virtualiation Layer (e.g. OpenStack, Kubernete) MEC Operting System MEC Hardware Resources(e.g. Intel Hard ware) MEC Hosting Infrastructure MEC APP VM MEC APP Management